top of page

The intensive second week

My second week didn’t actually start like planned. At the time my and my family’s life is pretty hectic and it brings some challenges to muddle through everything. When you have children things doesn’t always go as planned and for that reason I couldn’t attend to monday’s lecture. I felt pretty sad about it, because I want to get every information and help I can get to manage this Digital Business course properly. Fortunately I have this amazing and helpful team which gave me the information about the lectures and briefed me about the next task, the pitch-video. Actually I didn't even know what that is, but for my happiness there's internet. I discovered that pitching is like branding yourself, my first reaction was OH MY GOD! This might be the hardest exercise by this far or even of all the coming ones. I will be so far away from my comfort zone. But as my boyfriend always say, you can not improve yourself unless you don’t overcome your fears. And that’s exactly what I’m about to do in this course, 'though flattering myself isn’t the easiest thing for me. I want to show my kids the kind of adult I would like them to be someday, be the best rolemodel I can be (even though I can't always ;)), So if I want them to become brave and fearless I have to be that too, so I just have to remember that I can do this. I'm a bit nervous of what I'm able to produce with my pitch-video, we'll see.I will post it very soon.

On Thursday 28th we had our second lecture of the week. We had this very pleasant guest Heini Karppinen who is the COO in digital company called mehackit. She was there to told us her strory which I found very interesting. I got very professional image of her and that's why I was a bit surprised that originally she was gratuated as a kindergarden teacher. Now she's working in this digital business and she was obviously very excited about her work. She was telling about digitalization and giving some examples what kind of digital development there might be in 5 years, that was very impressive. One thing she emphasized the most was the importancy of networking, getting connections as much as you can. That same topic seems to come up in our every lecture so I have to activate myself and start to make new connections. She gave us good tips if you are trying to get a job, for example a very good point was that you always need to tell what you can do ALREADY and what kind of skills you have at the moment. Heini also gave us a task to reflect our thoughts about learning in the future. Here are some thoughts of mine concerning about the task:

Name and describe 2-3 trends, why are those trends important?

1. Learning more in practice, not by sitting in a lectures ( taking more part of a real working life, more internships, making real connections). I believe that one of the best way of learning is by doing. So that comes more important in this hectic and changing world where you constantly need to improve your skills and when the competition of the positions and the workplaces are in its top. Technology is developing so fast, so it’s extremely important to keep up with it and be able to update your skills and knowledge at the same rhythm.

2. learning more via social media, internet, e-courses, using new technologies ( less books, more laptops, computers, tablets/ pads, new programmes). The use and benefit of Social media in business is increasing every day. This new digital generation ( and all the coming ones) is more aware of the advantage and possibilities of social media, digital programmes and developing technology, they are more able to study and learn by using different kind of technology and be more independent in their studies.

3. besides of sitting and staring different kind of screens health and well-being comes even more important and schools and different kind of institutes start to invest to get that kind of education part of the studies ( offering optional courses like physical education, yoga, meditation, nutrition instruction etc.) People should be aware of this because we are living in the world where you have to be more and more effective even though you are working in a constant hurry. Our strengths are limited so we need something to help and balance us to have the energy to keep our engines going. When we are feeling good we can be much more effective and have a better competence, people should never forget that.

There was also other two guests in our lecture, the double Kevins. The other Kevin works as a project manager in our course and the other Kevin is also a student in Laurea. They did this same digital business course last fall and they came to our lecture to tell about their project during the course. I was very impressed about their story and the guts they have. Last fall they introduced themselves as cosultants to one company (they didn't mention that they are still students) which produces and sells air purifiers. They offered their knowledge and fresh ideas about how to make this companys marketing and website better and how to reach more customers. Eventhough they had competitors they got the job and they are still co-operating. There is few things that sticked in my mind from their presentation. One was that you always need to be very well prepared when you are going to meet new customers, potential employers, co-operators etc. It's also very important to remember that you can make first impression only once and that matters the most. The other thing was that remember to be honest, don't give any promises which you can't keep for sure. Those are extremely important things which works as well in working life as they do in your personal life.

This was a very intensive week and it offered many good point of views. I will get back very soon to publish my elevator pitching.


Maija Vakkilainen

My name is Maija Vakkilainen and I'm 32-years old. I'm a mother of two amazing boys but I am also a student. I am studying business for my second year in Laurea University of applied science.  

 

 

bottom of page