top of page

Third week already!

Hi there, it's me again. One whole week has passed already and I can only wonder how fast time goes by these days. It feels like i'm running against the time, I try my best to keep it up but I'm already a bit late with my tasks :(. I certainly have to push myself and organize my schedules better. I'm trying to remember all that has happened in our digital course during this third week, but it seems to be quite difficult, so let's see what kind of reflection and thinking I can share with you guys this time.

On thuesday we had our first guest speaker Eija Gerlander from Super Park who works there as the marketing manager. Super Park is an indoor amusement park with lot of sport possibilities and activities. Eija told us about Super Parks history and introduced us our first bigger project. We are suppose to shoot an advertising video for Super Park. I'm very excited about this assignment but at the same time a bit nervous. This is not my strongest part of expertise but over all that's what I'm here for, LEARNING and improving my skills! She gave us pretty free hands with the video, but we have to choose some visual angel and target audience for it. After a short reflection our team chose to make a video for families, after all I have two kids on my own whom we can benefit in this project, I'm sure we are going to have some blast!! Here is a link to one Super Park advertisement video which I found in youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R4-KKO4xtvM, we are going to do it so much better!

We had also another guest at the same day, Juha from SMM (Suomen Suoramainonta). I'm pretty sure they didn't tell us his last name nor I missed it (Sorry Juha!). Juha is an engineer who has worked in many companies (f.ex. Nokia and Jolla) but it's a funny story that his current employer was also his first employer over decades ago, of course the job and position was quiet different.

Juha was talking a lot about values especially in working life.

He claimed that it's very important to work for some purpose, not just to get money or glory. I totally agree. I have worked over ten years in one company doing office work and customer service. After few years I found myself questening that same thing: do I have some deeper purpose in my work and what kind of values this job gives to my life or the others? The answer was depressing, I didn't like my job, it didn't challenge me the way I wanted, I did it only because I needed the money and I kept going until I got to the point where I couldn't anymore. I felt I had nothing left to give. Don't get the wrong idea, I'm very grateful that I had that job and eventually I learned a lot but leaving there was one of the greatest decisions I have ever made. I started to study and the whole new world opened to me and I can't wait to see where this path is taking me! Juha also gave our teams a task: prevent their digital strategy and prevent some practical solutions for their employees to get more diversed working experiences. Sounds pretty difficult, but we made some up and we are about to present our ideas tomorrow.

On wednesday our tutor Anna reported trough facebook that her daugher was missing, that really shocked me especially as a mother. I spent that night kissing and hugging my kids and kept telling how much they mean to me. I was just wondering how I could ever manage to survive in a situation like that, I felt really bad for Anna and when she came to give us a lecture on thursday I just wanted to go to her and give her a big hug, actually I don't know why I didn't. Maybe because I'm a Finn ;) Anna was lecturing about cultures, it differences and the importancy to understand those differences especially in working life. I found it so interesting that I could have listened it hours and hours. She gave us many hilarious examples from her own experiences. I think I might have to make a new post about her lecture next week, otherwise this post is going to get too long.

Finallly the most important: Annas daughter was found and she seemed to be fine, Thank God:)! Life has its unpleasant way to remind us that nothing must be taken for granted. Fortunately this story had its happy end. But it really affected me for couple of days.

This past week contained a lot of innovation and creativity and worry of course. Sweet dreams!


Maija Vakkilainen

My name is Maija Vakkilainen and I'm 32-years old. I'm a mother of two amazing boys but I am also a student. I am studying business for my second year in Laurea University of applied science.  

 

 

bottom of page