top of page

Ooops, always forgetting something

In my last post I forgot to mention about our LinkedIn lecture from last week. Our team’s project manager Camilla and the other tutor Mira kept us a presentation about LinkedIn. They guided us how to create a LinkedIn account and emphasized the importance of having it. It seems to be very important channel in making connections and networking especially in working field. Actually I have heard about it many times and I know that most of my friends are useing it actively and one of my best friends even got an amazing job through it. I have noticed that I have a lot of prejudice for many things (mostly about foods, I'm eating like a child ;) ) but especially when it comes to these new public digital things and SOME accounts. Perhaps I'm just too insecure about myself and let others opinions get under to my skin too easily. And in addition to that in a way I consider myself too ordinary and boring. For those reasons I'm leaving too many things to do in my life, that's something I really have to change. But hey, now I have my own LinkedIn account, yay (everyone who didn't have it, created one in our lecture..I guess I was the only one), I just need to find some time to sit down and make it look more professional and MORE LIKE ME. One step at a time, but I'm definately updating my skills every week along with this digital course. I have realized that those several social media accounts make it easier for you to stand out. For example it's much easier to write a distinguishable CV or job application by adding a link for your personal LinkedIn account in it, which gives a much more interesting image of you as a person. That's why it is important to put an effort to your accounts and make them look professional and personal.

I had to skip one of the lectures couple of weeks ago because my son was sick so I needed to replace it by attending to some event which topics are somehow related to this digital course. Luckily our coach Ilkka suggested to us all volunteerly to attend some event called #LuovaLaboratorio. It was kept in Musiikkitalo in Helsinki and I didn't know much about it in advance. I like to experience new things as they are, without any expectations..Even when I go to the movies I prefer NOT to watch the trailer before hand, I believe that so I can get more authentic experience. What I knew about this #LuovaLaboratorio? I knew there was going to be some big names on the stage but I wasn't so sure what they were going to speak about, so I didn't have any expectations of what was coming. I went there with Teemu and Juuli from our course which was nice, I always enjoy having a people and friends around me.

Right in the beginning the two hosts of the night revealed that it was actually a book publishing event, but they wanted to do it somehow differently. If I remember right I haven't been in any book publishing event before but I'm pretty sure this was an unique way to organize one. Name of the book is Luova Laboratorio 15+1 tietä luovuuteen, it tells a stories and toughts of 16 creative persons in Finland. I really liked those two cute hosts Sami and Martta, I did sense the tension in them but even more the pride and enthusiasm of what they had created and accomplished.

There was five succeeded speakers from different fields who kept us a speech about creativity and determination and how they defines those and feels about it. They gave us amazing examples of where it can lead you and how much successing in life depends on yourself. The first one was Manuela Bosco, former professional athlete who has become an artist, actor and writer. I find her speech and perform a little bit too heavy especially as a starter of the night. She was talking or more like preaching about manifesto and all kind of energy stuff and the universe. Her lifestory was interesting but in some point I got this feeling that I just want her to stop speaking. I don't even recall properly what se said. But I really appreciate all she has acchieved and I bet there's lot to come, she was obviously in some flow-motion.

The second one was André Noël Chaker, I fell in love with him in a second. He was so funny, charming and he kept smiling all the time. He is half-canadian and half-italian and been living in Finland around twenty years, he is speaking finnish increadible well and more surprising was that he is joking like a Finn. He was a teen-rock star in Canada who became a lawyer and a businessman and he was even awarded as a speaker of the year in Finland in 2012, how amazing!!!After his performance I'm not surprised! He was telling funny stories about his life but the most important and influencing thing for me was the fact that YOU CAN COMBINE THE DIFFERENT SIDES OF YOU and become a success. He told an interesting story of his own life. When he was around fifteen they had a rock band with his friends and they did break through after some tv-performance. Their band was invited to play at nights to some pub but because they were underaged they needed a permission from their parents. Unfortunately Andrés father was very religious and said that he will rather die than let his son play in a pub at nights. At the time André didn't success at school so he get an idea that if he make a promise to his father that as long as he will get only excellent grades from school his father would let him play with the band, and he did. Because of that promise André started to study harder and became one of the most succeeded student in their school and succeeded in his life as well. Ok, he didn't became a super rock star but because of his effort in school a new world and thinking opened to him and along with his growing knowledge he started to want a different things from his life and future. This all happened just because he wanted to play music and share his own creativity. It's funny how life can sometimes surprise you, you think you know what you want or CAN do, but then something happens which can turn your hole life upside down and you have to find a new path and create a new story for you.

The other three guests were globally known Finnish shoe-designer Minna Parikka, director Olli Saarela and the parliamentarian Hjallis Harkimo, who is propably one of the most known succeeded businessman in Finland at the moment. I believe that Minna Parikka has become some kind of rolemodel especially for young girls, I consider her stroy as a cinderella-story, she is a prove of determination and creativity. She know what she wants and determinaly make her way there. I really appreciate her work.

I was very surprised when I heard that one of the speakers would be Olli Saarela, that's because I remember him more from some disaster headlines considering his personal life than from what he has accomplished. So his deepness and wise thinking really surprised me. I got the impression that his life hasn't always took the easiest way but somehow he has turned his breaking points into his strenghts.

But what about Hjallis? There's a man with some unexplainable silent charisma. I have watched his tv-shows but this was the first time I saw him on live and I was even more impressed of him after his presentation. I believe that with his experience he could lecture almost about anything but his speech focused into his life's biggest challenge by this far (as he described) and that was his trial against oceans. In 1986-1987 he sailed alone around the world, he was the first finnish who has done it. The most graziest thing is that he had never sailed alone before that, he had just read about it and decided to do it. It was a sailing contest and amaizingly Hjallis was the third one crossing the finish line, in a first place it was a miracle that he even made it with that lack of experience, most ofthe others didn't. Hjallis told wild things about his journey, like how he had to tear off his tooth without any medical help, or how his boat turn over in the middle of the ocean, etc. He said that every time he faces something that raises some doubts about his competens he "goes" back to his sailing memories and say the words: IF I MANAGE TO DO THAT, I CAN DO ANYTHING, I JUST HAVE TO FIND OUT A SOLUTION WHICH HELPS ME TO GET WHAT I WANT!!! What a great fearless man.

After all the speakers they let us enjoy the creativity of the singer Reino Nordin, who sang few of his songs. In a way he is a bit arrogant but God he can sing well. Very enjoyable night in every way, I could have sit there much longer! And YES, I'm definately getting the book, THANK YOU #LuovaLaboratorio!


Maija Vakkilainen

My name is Maija Vakkilainen and I'm 32-years old. I'm a mother of two amazing boys but I am also a student. I am studying business for my second year in Laurea University of applied science.  

 

 

bottom of page