top of page

"Easy" week number 6

The current week has been our winter holiday so we didn't have any lectures. I was so delighted about this break and feel that this vacation was really needed. I started a new era this year by buying our first own apartment, starting my studies again after a long break and putting my kid to a daycare and it has taken its toll. Getting used to these new routines hasn't always been so easy, especially for my youngest who seems to be very sensitive and for me who always feels quilty about everything. Sometimes fitting everything into my familys schedule really feels impossible but little by little we are getting there. I'm trying not to be so stressed about everything, but sometimes it's pretty difficult because at school f.ex. we are doing everything in groups and I don't want to give the impression that I'm not taking it serious or putting enough effort to our teamwork. I obviously have to develope my organizing and relaxing skills ;)

On thursday for the first time in this winter I had a chance to sit down at daytime for couple of hours just by myself (usually I'm doing my school jobs at night when the other family is sleeping). It felt increadable just to sit down in silence, make a cup of coffee and stare at my laptop's screen. While sitting there I got an idea about updateing my blog-pages more suitable for the topic of the course but as I told you earlier I'm terrible bad making any decisions so I can promise you there will be a lot of updates coming in the future. But now they look a bit different, 'though I'm still working the appearance to look more like me.

Despite of our holiday our coach Ilkka asked us to watch Kyla Mitsunaga's TED talk from youtube and post some reflections of it to our blogs (if I've got it right we are shortly going to have some co-operating with her, exciting!!). So here's the Kyla's video:

On the video Kyla speaks about how teachers should learn WITH students instead of teaching AT students. I really agree with her because I believe that where ever you meet people, whatever age, education, race or social class they present they can always teach you something new and help you think "outside of the box". I have noticed that the more you have different kind of people around you the more it gives you possibilities to reflect your own thoughts and actions and that way it gives you the key to start undestand youself and the others better.The others works as mirrors to you and without any people you could never question your own action because you wouldn't have anything to compare. I don't mean that there would always be right or wrong way to think or do things, but it's important to realize that there might be a DIFFERENT way.

Learning with the students can be usefull for both but It can also be a much more fun. At least that's my thought, doing and learning together it's always more enjoyable than experiencing something alone, having the chance to share the experience with someone makes it more valuable. Whether you are a teacher or student it's important to remember that our whole life is a journey of learning and if you keep your mind open the journey will be much richer. It's important to consider us all EQUAL and forget the titles, because I believe we are all teachers and students in this great adventure called LIFE. But never forget who's playing the mainrole in your journey, it's you!!! No one else can make a journey FOR you only WITH you.

According to Kyla's video I got very warm and authentic image of her. I'm looking forward to know more about her and her work.

I ended this week by spending the day with the best people just messing around and being free of stress in Tempputemmellys in Espoo, is there a better way to end up a vacation! So welcome next week!


Maija Vakkilainen

My name is Maija Vakkilainen and I'm 32-years old. I'm a mother of two amazing boys but I am also a student. I am studying business for my second year in Laurea University of applied science.  

 

 

bottom of page