top of page

Part 2 - the positivity & excitement

Hi guys,

this chapter of the course started with such a great and positive energy...I have to say that Ilkka has some rare ability to not just share his good vibes but also get you excited to the top and make you truly believe that everything is possible. I'm so unbeliavable excited about this course, every topic, every task, every guest... absolutely amazing. I've got a weird feeling that I'm starting some new and significant chapter of my life and I'm finally getting the courage to really overcome my fears and start fully believe in me...and it's about the time ;) ! I have really struggled with the thought that I might not have enough potential, personality and creativity to achieve something meaningfull in my future. Yes, I have achieved a lot in my personal life and I bet being a mother is the greates achievement I can ever imagine, but for the first time for such a long time I have a feeling that despite of my age and motherhood (maybe even because of it, it has given me a lot of confidence and strenght) there is still a lot to come, so I'm really keeping my eyes and MIND open and looking forward to see what life has to offer me and what I have to offer to the world.

I find it a bit difficult to summarize the past week because I'm like in some kind of bath of excitement. Recalling everything from this week's lectures is badly disturbed by the excitement and enthusiasm I'm having at the moment. If studying can be this much fun I can only ask why I didn't do this earlier?

I tend to analyze everything and everyone all the time (mostly something pointless, we can f.ex. analyze the contents of the bag of sweets with my two sisters for half an hour..), but it has really surprised me how much I have already in advance spent time thinking and analyzing about the topics we have talked about in the course. And I have noticed that our coaches has very similar thought about positivity and the power of your own mind and attitude than I have. Ilkka showed and told us about the invisible counselor method which you can use to improve your focusing and imagination and all the capacity which you have in you. I found it very interesting and I'm definately going to try it.

On Monday Ilkka presented what was coming in the future and what kind of projects and co-operations we are going to have in this second part. Sound again very interesting! We also had Eija from Super Park commenting our SuperPark videos and Some strategies and finally announcing the winner team...tattadadaadadaa...and the winner is team number 8 the Diginpiration, Quite nice I have to say :) We got free tickets to Super Park, how nice :)

On friday our lecture started with the presentation of our two guest from Nobot oy, Saara and Jouni. Saara works there beside her school and Jouni Varpelaide is the CO of the company and he has written a book called TERVEEN YRITYKSEN TYÖKIRJA and Ilkka asked us to read it before our friday's lecture and choose one chapter from it for our next week task. Every team have to make a short video from the topic of the chapter they have chosen. Our team chosed chapter 7, IMPROVING AND LEARNING or actually my team gave me the power to make the decission. I think every chapter was very interesting and I could have chosen any of them but after a long thinking I ended up to number 7. But let's get back to the point... :) So what can I say about our first visitors, I was again so impressed that I'm starting to sound like a robot...I feel I'm repeating myself every week, but that's how I'm feeling! Jouni spoke a lot about a culture in the working field and how important it is to put an effort to it. He has started the company by himself and I consider the Nobot oy very revolutionary, fresh, progressive and admirable. The company is intented especially for youth and most of the employees are under 30. I got the feeling that the Nobot oy works as a bridge to youngsters from school to working life. If I would be younger I'm pretty sure I could try to find my way there, it really sounded a great and special place to work.

Jouni told us that he's every day writing down a three positive things from his past day, that's something I'm definately going to start doing. I decided to write three positive things from my each week to my blog as well. I really believe that being positive makes positive things happen around you. So the three highlights from this week:

1) My kids, they remind me every day what is pure joy and happiness and UNCONDITIONAL LOVE!! They might be the greatest teachers of my life <3

2) We finally got our first own sauna and got a chance to enjoy from it for the first time

3) We had an opportunity after a very long time to spend a night with our friends and party the all night long:) God I have missed it!

The third guest was Joanna from MMA (myynnin ja markkinoinnin ammattilaiset) who gratuated from Laurea in 2014. She started her presentation talking about the things which she would have wanted to know when she was a student...I think that's a great topic to start with and it was great to have some guest to whom you can easily identify. I was mostly impressed her examples about how you can lead the conversation to some specific target or goal, how you just have to ask the right questions, I guess that's something you have to practice. It also nice to be reminded that we all start from somewhere and we are just in the beginning of our journey.

Great week again!


Maija Vakkilainen

My name is Maija Vakkilainen and I'm 32-years old. I'm a mother of two amazing boys but I am also a student. I am studying business for my second year in Laurea University of applied science.  

 

 

bottom of page