top of page

week 10 - want to know more!

Hi there:) I have to apologize for being a bit late with this post. Our Easter has been so full of actions, relatives and friends so I didn’t find enough time to sit down and let my thoughts fly. But better late than never, right!!!

Last week was absolutely amazing and I feel quite difficult to put all my thoughts together as something reasonable, but I’ll give it a try. Do you know the feeling when you are so excited and your brain works as some kind of playground for your endlessly running thoughts and you are trying to put them in some kind of order to make some sense..that’s exactly how I’m feeling after last week. I have realized that the knowledge what we get from the lectures doesn’t extend only for digital business... at least for me! this course has taken me somewhere much deeper, I’m making some kind of exploration into myself and via that I feel like I’m starting to find the potential which rightly channeled can take me far and help me to find my place in my working future and makes it possible to be part of something successful.

But let’s get back to the main topic, to the last week. There was some annual cruise for the students on Monday, so half of the class couldn’t participate to the lecture. But I’m glad I didn’t miss our interesting guest speakers because once again I was so excited and impressed by them. Our lecturers on Monday were Jyri Rasinmäki, Sofia Auranen and Terhi Aho. They had all very different kind of presentation but I think they were all very interesting and educational.

Jyri works as the freelancer in digital business and he's presentation was about critical thinking, asking the right questions and problem solving. I like his personal and authentic way to present things. What stuck to my mind from Jyri's lecturing was that you have to understand that you are learning all the time and you will never be finished with learning. And another thing was that you need to have some value in your work and when you choose your works you have to make the decisions based by those values. Jyri had some very deep but realistic and important points. I wish I could someday be in that situation where I could really choose the jobs I want and do something what really matters.

Our second guest Sofia Auranen was very charming and adorable person. I really loved her way of telling her story. She have travelled around the world and spent two years abroad when she was around 20, that’s something I have always dreamed about. I really appreciate her courage to reach for her dreams. I'm starting to understand what does they mean by saying: where you aim is where you will find yourself. You really need to be brave and have the balls to get what you want and not let your fears to stop you experiencing life.

Mondays last lecturer Terhi from TULOS was very professional and told us about content marketing, search engines and Google analytics. I found that very educational, useful and interesting. This field is the most challenging for me because of the lack of my knowledge from data processing. So I'm extremely happy every time someone explains these kind of things to me.

Thursday started with such a great energy when Antti Haapsaari started his presentation. WOW!!! There’s one person who has some inborn talent to share his good energy and be inspiration to the others. I’m not sure what kind of education or background he has, but he has achieved a lot and been networking amazingly. What I know is that he has been as the bodyguard of our previous prime minister and have bought an architecture company (Kanttia 2) with his brother few years ago and they have made it a success. He was lecturing us about digitalization and even more about how important is to believe in you and the things you are doing. I’m on my way to improve the skill of believing in myself and little by little I'm making a progress. When I was younger and still playing basketball very actively I had a coach who really believed in me and told me that I can really be unstoppable and that way he made me to believe that too. And with that believe I really was able for amazing performances. I really do think that believing yourself is the key to get the best out of you. Antti was also talking about mentors and the importance of finding one -or why not multiple. I totally agree. With the help of your mentor(s) you can hold on to your self-belief when you are starting to lose it.

But it's good to remember that believing yourself is different than believing in the things you do. To do something well and to be able to produce good quality in everything you do it demands the belief in your doings. You have to find a purpose and a value for your actions if you want to success.

After Antti’s speech we were presented two student cases.The first one was project for Avionboard oy and the other one for team FunKing from our class. Every team had to choose which one they wanted to do their project for and our team chosen the Avionboard project. We will start the project tomorrow so I will tell you more about it in my next post :)

I must say that Ilkka and Anna has done a great job getting all of our amazing guests to visit us. They have showed us what does networking really mean and I can't wait to see more, hear more and learn more!


Maija Vakkilainen

My name is Maija Vakkilainen and I'm 32-years old. I'm a mother of two amazing boys but I am also a student. I am studying business for my second year in Laurea University of applied science.  

 

 

bottom of page