top of page

Amazing week with Kyla

Last week was really something I’m not sure if I’m even able to impress myself anyway clearly or put all my thoughts into words, but I’ll do my best.

Ilkka had advertised that something REALLY SUPER (that’s usual Ilkka, but this time you could sense some extra enthusiasm in him!) would be coming but I had no idea what it could be until I got to the auditorium on Monday a bit late and saw KYLA there lecturing to our group. I was really knocked out and positively surprised. I’m still trying to understand the past week and all it’s influence to me.

As I have said before this course has been such an interesting trip to me and what has surprised me the most is that my closest friends and people has noticed the difference in me already. I’m not sure if anyone has said something so nice to me than my boyfriend did on the other day when he said to me that “I can see the positive change in you, I’m so happy that finally you are starting to see yourself the way I have seen you for years”. That might sound a bit cheesy but it felt great because I’m proud of what I’ve accomplished in my thinking level and curious to see when and how I can put that all in action. Little by little :)

But let’s get back to the business...so on Monday Kyla kept a lecture about Happiness and teaching WITH the students. She took us all to the yard and demonstrated what she meant by doing WITH. She is totally taking the teaching to the next level and I can only be happy for the ones she is teaching every day. Kyla also gave us a task to shoot a video where we are making people in Laurea happy. Our group came up with the idea of giving roses and chocolate to the staff of Laurea :)

After Kyla’s lecture and lunch we had a chance to hear more Kyla’s thoughts when she continued her lecture telling us about leaderships. It was actually meant for the students who are going to be part of the course next year as tutors or some other way. That was SO interesting and innovative lecture again, God she is good! I had my AHA-moment there...I have always thought that I CAN’t become a leader because I’m not able to put myself somehow upper position compared to the others or be someway more important than the others. But after listening Kyla I realized that it’s totally upside-down, for that reason I actually CAN become a leader, not just a leader but a GOOD leader, because I have the ability to lead WITH the people.

On wednesday we had a session where every group presented their Happiness-videos but unfortunately I had to skip that part because I had to participate one other course which was held at the same time and which I couldn’t skip. I felt a bit sad about it but luckily Ilkka had invited all the interested one to the dinner with Kyla and some other lectures from the course. The dinner was optional and at first I thought I don’t have the courage to participate but then I realized that if I want to live full life and experience things and get somewhere in my life I have to say YES ( that’s something I have learnt from the course), so after that it was an easy call to make the decision to go there. Once again I don’t regret!!!! The atmosphere there was magical, so warm and touchable..something you can’t explain. Kyla had wrote a letter to all of us and put us to pairs to make a video about global leader. That was fun and spontaneous and diverse totally from some typical dinner. Great experience!!!!

I have to say that Kyla is one of the most genuine, warm, humble, intelligent and impressing person I have ever met!!! Her presence is something you can’t explain. She is spreading her inner positivity and happiness everywhere just by being there, I’m absolutely amazed. I will truly appreciate and cherish this opportunity and chance to met her :)

Here is one video which really hit me and I want to share it with you guys!! I have realized that I have been given only one life and I’m the one who is making the decision how it’s going to be used!!! I’m the only one who can be on my way and that’s something that’s really changing, I’m not going to fear of failing anymore!!!

With gratitude and happiness I'm starting my new week:)


Maija Vakkilainen

My name is Maija Vakkilainen and I'm 32-years old. I'm a mother of two amazing boys but I am also a student. I am studying business for my second year in Laurea University of applied science.  

 

 

bottom of page